IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Nexus For Netbooks
Nexus for netbooks
Would you be interested in playing Nexus on a netbook (1024x600)?
Yes [ 12 ] ** [30.77%]
No [ 6 ] ** [15.38%]
I would, if I had a netbook. [ 11 ] ** [28.21%]
I do not care [ 10 ] ** [25.64%]
Total Votes: 39
Guests cannot vote 
sephyr
post May 15 2009, 12:22 AM
Post #1


Level 5
*

Group: Citizens
Posts: 21
Joined: 7-January 09
Member No.: 12,787



Nexus for netbooks!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xevu
post May 15 2009, 12:33 AM
Post #2


Il san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 301
Joined: 1-December 07
From: USA
Member No.: 5,702



I'm not voting until there is an I don't care option.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
stabme
post May 15 2009, 11:00 PM
Post #3


Sam san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 907
Joined: 4-July 06
Member No.: 66



Netbooks run either Windows XP, which supports Nexus TK; or Linux, which also support Nexus TK via wine...

RE: xevu, if you don't care, then gtho of this thread


--------------------
IMEDIAT: I am the Lixir! I speak for the Wars!
I no longer Elixir or draw Imediat. I now help make music free for all: Grooveshark
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xevu
post May 16 2009, 07:59 PM
Post #4


Il san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 301
Joined: 1-December 07
From: USA
Member No.: 5,702



Personally if I did have a netbook, I probably wouldn't play nexus on it anyway. Though I really don't like playing nexus on any kind of laptop.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sephyr
post May 17 2009, 12:03 AM
Post #5


Level 5
*

Group: Citizens
Posts: 21
Joined: 7-January 09
Member No.: 12,787



I should change this poll from "Nexus for Netbooks?" to Nexus for computers with 1024x600 resolution.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xevu
post May 17 2009, 01:43 PM
Post #6


Il san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 301
Joined: 1-December 07
From: USA
Member No.: 5,702



If you can't solve the problem by working on the machine. Then solve it by fixing the program to work on the machine. It's the American way after all! tongue.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sebelle
post May 29 2009, 09:28 PM
Post #7


Sam san
Group Icon

Group: Moderators
Posts: 757
Joined: 3-July 06
From: East Kimchon
Member No.: 30



I've been wanting to purchase a Netbook for a while (Woot keeps tempting me with them), and if I was able to fish or woodcut on Nexus while watching TV I'd be pleased. I could do it anywhere and it'd be pretty inconspicuous tongue.gif

If anyone finds out a legal way to get it to work, I'd totally be interested.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bobert
post Jun 23 2009, 05:57 PM
Post #8


Il san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 191
Joined: 4-July 06
From: Boca Raton, Fl
Member No.: 91
Characters: Bobert, Vlakir



If I had one I would play. I wouldn't hunt though but just for hanging around I would


--------------------

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dritz
post Jun 24 2009, 01:13 PM
Post #9


Sam san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 749
Joined: 3-July 06
Member No.: 37
Characters: PyroAce



QUOTE (Sebelle @ May 29 2009, 08:28 PM) *
I've been wanting to purchase a Netbook for a while (Woot keeps tempting me with them), and if I was able to fish or woodcut on Nexus while watching TV I'd be pleased. I could do it anywhere and it'd be pretty inconspicuous tongue.gif

If anyone finds out a legal way to get it to work, I'd totally be interested.


Sounds like people have got it working they just can not get the whole display to show up at once. That would hardly be a problem for crafting. If you wanted hunting or PK it would not work to well though.


--------------------
There I was


Probably not coming back to NF if you'd like to contact me talk to PyroAce in game.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ouned
post Jul 1 2010, 10:55 AM
Post #10


Level 5
*

Group: Citizens
Posts: 36
Joined: 8-July 08
Member No.: 8,151



I have a netbook running Ubuntu netbook remix, and I tried nexus with wine. HATED it. The screen size is just not good enough. The atom processor is slow as darn. I had to wire the thing to get decent internatz access. Lames.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Runai
post Sep 10 2010, 03:50 AM
Post #11


Level 5
*

Group: Citizens
Posts: 11
Joined: 26-August 07
Member No.: 3,658



It's been a few months - has anyone managed to get Nexus truly working on a netbook yet? Without all the graphical problems and anomalies.

Personally I've gotten my Asus 1001PX to run Nexus reasonably well, though not perfectly. I basically have two choices when running it:
Either the whole UI and game field shows up, but because my screen is not big enough every part of the screen sort of flickers and randomly overlaps. It's playable but looks silly.
However through a series of maneuvers (alt-TAB'ing out and back in again and then spamming ctrl-r about 10 times) I can get the UI and game field to settle down and look like Nexus is supposed to - only catch is that now the cursor is slowed a little bit and flickers back and forth between the regular Windows pointer and the animated Nexus cursor, and if I move it to the very bottom of the screen, my taskbar comes up and overlaps Nexus (not always a bad thing).

So - has anyone got it truly working? Or does anyone have any tips on how to get it working better from where I'm currently at?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dritz
post Sep 10 2010, 12:36 PM
Post #12


Sam san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 749
Joined: 3-July 06
Member No.: 37
Characters: PyroAce



1024x768 is = 1024x768

There is no fix and (probably) never will be until netbooks get higher resolution screens.


--------------------
There I was


Probably not coming back to NF if you'd like to contact me talk to PyroAce in game.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Runai
post Sep 10 2010, 06:30 PM
Post #13


Level 5
*

Group: Citizens
Posts: 11
Joined: 26-August 07
Member No.: 3,658



QUOTE (Dritz @ Sep 10 2010, 07:36 PM) *
1024x768 is = 1024x768


Then how did I just make all 1024x768 of Nexus (with no scrolling down and no overlapping) show on a 1024x600 screen, with the only graphical problem being the cursor flickering?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dritz
post Sep 11 2010, 03:08 AM
Post #14


Sam san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 749
Joined: 3-July 06
Member No.: 37
Characters: PyroAce



It's doing some weird stuff to make a pixel != a pixel I guess. 's been mentioned in one of these types of threads. You can always make Nexus bigger with little trouble but making it smaller will (always?) introduce problems like that.


--------------------
There I was


Probably not coming back to NF if you'd like to contact me talk to PyroAce in game.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rauu
post Oct 2 2015, 11:05 AM
Post #15


Level 5
*

Group: Peasants
Posts: 5
Joined: 10-September 15
Member No.: 191,514



----- :L Ahm - munch.

Looking forward to playing in approx. 1mo on my ASUS T100TAF. Playing with the resolution looks hopeful & promising while I build out a 860k AMD mATX P50 Antec case'd machine. unsure. .

Product details
Installed memory: 2 GB RAM
Battery life: 8 hour battery
Screen size: 10.1 inch
Feature: Touchscreen, Convertible
Resolution: 1366 x 768
Processor speed: 1.33 GHz CPU

Newegg.com seems to house the new-er [ Ta^books ] for a reasonable price approx. 265 dollars . . ?
I believe. . . : these should allow for playing NexusTK w/in reason.
'ASUS Infinity Tf700T & ASUS Tf701T ( 2560 x 1600 ) w/ the higher rez. #happyhunting

edited 10.02.15 : running windows 10.1 upgrade on both.

#SaveNexusTK dry.gif


--------------------
If stop signs say stop while they're being ma. . d . .
why add more? . .
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th September 2017 - 03:03 AM
Nexus Forums is part of: Nexus Atlas © all rights reserved.