IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Bugs And Suggestions, Help us, help you.
AceoStar
post Sep 27 2008, 11:31 PM
Post #1


Oh san
Group Icon

Group: Retired Staff
Posts: 3,120
Joined: 3-July 06
Member No.: 2
Characters: AceoStar



Post any General Bugs and Suggestions you may have. You can still post stuff in the threads that pertain to the topic, but having the general ones in here will make it easier for me to keep track of.


--------------------
AceoStar, Imperial Guard of Buya.

Put www.StatAddict.com in your profile to track your stats today!


Learn to keep up


Errr, NF is filtered at work these days, I'll be checking the forums a lot less often.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
HaKSaW
post Sep 28 2008, 04:04 PM
Post #2


Ee san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 524
Joined: 30-June 08
Member No.: 7,927
Characters: HaKSaW



Current caves would be nice.

Mythic/Vortex only of course.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
AceoStar
post Sep 28 2008, 04:29 PM
Post #3


Oh san
Group Icon

Group: Retired Staff
Posts: 3,120
Joined: 3-July 06
Member No.: 2
Characters: AceoStar



^Caves and Crafting are top on my to do list after tracking is finished smile.gif

I already have the cave data, just gotta spit it out


--------------------
AceoStar, Imperial Guard of Buya.

Put www.StatAddict.com in your profile to track your stats today!


Learn to keep up


Errr, NF is filtered at work these days, I'll be checking the forums a lot less often.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
AceoStar
post Sep 28 2008, 07:25 PM
Post #4


Oh san
Group Icon

Group: Retired Staff
Posts: 3,120
Joined: 3-July 06
Member No.: 2
Characters: AceoStar



Caves are now at the bottom of userpages, I'll make them pretty and bring back the cave view soon.


--------------------
AceoStar, Imperial Guard of Buya.

Put www.StatAddict.com in your profile to track your stats today!


Learn to keep up


Errr, NF is filtered at work these days, I'll be checking the forums a lot less often.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
AceoStar
post Sep 29 2008, 07:26 PM
Post #5


Oh san
Group Icon

Group: Retired Staff
Posts: 3,120
Joined: 3-July 06
Member No.: 2
Characters: AceoStar



bleh, userpages lost the A directory for images. I didn't catch it until a little too late, so the following users (INCLUDING ME =0 ) won't have a user image until KRU fixes the pages :/

Aalenia
Aava
Abercrombie
Abidah
Abigail
ableh
Abomination
AbsoluteZero
Acacia
Acelynn
AceoStar
Achelis
Achillees
Acoustic
Across
Acrylic
Acura
Adamantai
Adella
Adena
Aderes
Adhaya
adhira
adolon

Think the userpages stopped updating too :/ That really puts a damper on my tracking dev


--------------------
AceoStar, Imperial Guard of Buya.

Put www.StatAddict.com in your profile to track your stats today!


Learn to keep up


Errr, NF is filtered at work these days, I'll be checking the forums a lot less often.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dritz
post Sep 29 2008, 09:01 PM
Post #6


Sam san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 749
Joined: 3-July 06
Member No.: 37
Characters: PyroAce



Yah the userpages are kind of annoying. Even when they have been updating they have been doing some weird stuff with images.


--------------------
There I was


Probably not coming back to NF if you'd like to contact me talk to PyroAce in game.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
AceoStar
post Sep 30 2008, 08:52 AM
Post #7


Oh san
Group Icon

Group: Retired Staff
Posts: 3,120
Joined: 3-July 06
Member No.: 2
Characters: AceoStar



You think KRU would ban my server's IP if I sent them a email everytime I tried to update but the userpages havent updated? tongue.gif


--------------------
AceoStar, Imperial Guard of Buya.

Put www.StatAddict.com in your profile to track your stats today!


Learn to keep up


Errr, NF is filtered at work these days, I'll be checking the forums a lot less often.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
HaKSaW
post Sep 30 2008, 09:26 AM
Post #8


Ee san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 524
Joined: 30-June 08
Member No.: 7,927
Characters: HaKSaW



I doubt it, the website you and Berig are running is useful to players and probably something they should provide more data for.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
AceoStar
post Sep 30 2008, 09:28 AM
Post #9


Oh san
Group Icon

Group: Retired Staff
Posts: 3,120
Joined: 3-July 06
Member No.: 2
Characters: AceoStar



Well it would be an automated email every 3 hours but yeah, you're probably right hehe


--------------------
AceoStar, Imperial Guard of Buya.

Put www.StatAddict.com in your profile to track your stats today!


Learn to keep up


Errr, NF is filtered at work these days, I'll be checking the forums a lot less often.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
HaKSaW
post Sep 30 2008, 09:38 AM
Post #10


Ee san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 524
Joined: 30-June 08
Member No.: 7,927
Characters: HaKSaW



If mug/KRU Interactive really want to make them useful they should pull live data. It's not very stressful on the systems.

I can promise that for a fact (Baram does this) and I know their servers are never running at even 50% capacity, so a few database queries is [Content removed] all.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rokugo
post Sep 30 2008, 11:52 AM
Post #11


Ee san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 401
Joined: 11-July 06
Member No.: 327
Characters: Rokugo, Pythagoreus, PaulWight, ????



Given the popularity of SA in its prime and the increasing popularity of the new SA, I would highly recommend KRU to fix the userpages to update regularly, because this is something lots of people enjoy. However, I've gotten the impression from mug in the past though that he doesn't see the userpages as a particularly necessary game feature, sadly.


--------------------
Hi, I'm Rokugo. You probably don't know me.
There is a 95% chance the above post is sarcasm and is not to be taken seriously.
I play Real Life to help escape NexusTK.
"Baby, for you I'd divide by zero" <--- My # 1 pickup line
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Vortextk
post Sep 30 2008, 12:19 PM
Post #12


Sam san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 808
Joined: 6-February 07
From: Cape Canaveral, Fl
Member No.: 1,757
Characters: Frog



QUOTE(Rokugo @ Sep 30 2008, 12:52 PM) [snapback]63269[/snapback]

However, I've gotten the impression from mug in the past though that he doesn't see the userpages as a particularly necessary game feature, sadly.


Along with game balance, ingame(not itemshop) new features, events, updates, graphics....


--------------------
IPB Image
Pandemonium Frog My Progress
Warriors; so easy a caveman could do it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
HaKSaW
post Sep 30 2008, 07:58 PM
Post #13


Ee san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 524
Joined: 30-June 08
Member No.: 7,927
Characters: HaKSaW



I'd suggest to make those who do not show stats have the "too scared to show" image, not just those without userpages.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
AceoStar
post Sep 30 2008, 08:06 PM
Post #14


Oh san
Group Icon

Group: Retired Staff
Posts: 3,120
Joined: 3-July 06
Member No.: 2
Characters: AceoStar



hehe, but then my sig looks like crap wink.gif


--------------------
AceoStar, Imperial Guard of Buya.

Put www.StatAddict.com in your profile to track your stats today!


Learn to keep up


Errr, NF is filtered at work these days, I'll be checking the forums a lot less often.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
HaKSaW
post Sep 30 2008, 10:09 PM
Post #15


Ee san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 524
Joined: 30-June 08
Member No.: 7,927
Characters: HaKSaW



So you hard code yourself in tongue.gif

Perks of being the webmaster.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
AceoStar
post Sep 30 2008, 10:13 PM
Post #16


Oh san
Group Icon

Group: Retired Staff
Posts: 3,120
Joined: 3-July 06
Member No.: 2
Characters: AceoStar



haha, good point, but I can't ditch my fellow chonnies. Also, I'd be required initialize the player class each time I show an image which creates additional overhead instead of just pointing to a single image. smile.gif To reduce the load, I could just check the stats for that player but thats one more query than needed.

Fun fact for those web devs out there, this code actually works for showing alternate images when the first doesn't exist. Sadly, I had been missing out on this for a while :-(

CODE

onerror="this.src='/images/noshow.png'">


--------------------
AceoStar, Imperial Guard of Buya.

Put www.StatAddict.com in your profile to track your stats today!


Learn to keep up


Errr, NF is filtered at work these days, I'll be checking the forums a lot less often.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
HaKSaW
post Oct 1 2008, 08:58 AM
Post #17


Ee san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 524
Joined: 30-June 08
Member No.: 7,927
Characters: HaKSaW



QUOTE(AceoStar @ Sep 30 2008, 10:13 PM) [snapback]63373[/snapback]
haha, good point, but I can't ditch my fellow chonnies. Also, I'd be required initialize the player class each time I show an image which creates additional overhead instead of just pointing to a single image. smile.gif To reduce the load, I could just check the stats for that player but thats one more query than needed.

Or you could cache it and grab the images from a local cache directory. That way, when the server is fetching data it sets a flag as to whether to show the character image or not. As for the chonny thing, they've always been afraid to show/tell stats, there's no solid RP that I've ever had explained to me as to why game mechanic statistics are not allowed to be revealed. Also, you could also just simply say something like... if (subpath=Chongun) { display userpage image } yada yada.

QUOTE(AceoStar @ Sep 30 2008, 10:13 PM) [snapback]63373[/snapback]
Fun fact for those web devs out there, this code actually works for showing alternate images when the first doesn't exist. Sadly, I had been missing out on this for a while :-(
CODE
onerror="this.src='/images/noshow.png'">

Very nice to know... this will come in handy...


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
AceoStar
post Oct 1 2008, 09:20 AM
Post #18


Oh san
Group Icon

Group: Retired Staff
Posts: 3,120
Joined: 3-July 06
Member No.: 2
Characters: AceoStar



QUOTE


Or you could cache it and grab the images from a local cache directory. That way, when the server is fetching data it sets a flag as to whether to show the character image or not.


That's actually what I'm doing now, but the check to see if the image exists or not wasn't working quite right, and thus I killed off those A userimages smile.gif What I would need to do to accomplish what you said is just store separate images here based on the already known $player->vita, since the player data has already been stored as an object at this point.

CODE

if ($player->vita == 0 && $player->subpath != 'Chongun'){
save('skeerd.gif')
}else{
save('$player->name');
}


QUOTE

Also, you could also just simply say something like... if (subpath=Chongun) { display userpage image } yada yada.


YEah, I could easily do that on the userpages since I'm already loading the player class anyway. Or when actually saving the images like mentioned above, But on the front pages I just pull the names and then link to em. If I did what I mentioned above that'd work fine tho.

Either way, I wanna keep as many true images as I can to improve the feel of it smile.gif

QUOTE

Very nice to know... this will come in handy...

Yeah man, Berig showed me this the other day and I love it. No more file checks for trying to show alternates smile.gif


--------------------
AceoStar, Imperial Guard of Buya.

Put www.StatAddict.com in your profile to track your stats today!


Learn to keep up


Errr, NF is filtered at work these days, I'll be checking the forums a lot less often.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dritz
post Oct 1 2008, 11:14 AM
Post #19


Sam san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 749
Joined: 3-July 06
Member No.: 37
Characters: PyroAce



QUOTE(AceoStar @ Sep 30 2008, 09:13 PM) [snapback]63373[/snapback]
Fun fact for those web devs out there, this code actually works for showing alternate images when the first doesn't exist. Sadly, I had been missing out on this for a while :-(

CODE

onerror="this.src='/images/noshow.png'">



Yah that's helpful.. I normally check the headers to see if the image is an image, but this should be a little less intensive.


--------------------
There I was


Probably not coming back to NF if you'd like to contact me talk to PyroAce in game.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rokugo
post Oct 2 2008, 11:51 AM
Post #20


Ee san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 401
Joined: 11-July 06
Member No.: 327
Characters: Rokugo, Pythagoreus, PaulWight, ????



Suggestions:
An "Everyone" list. If this is too intensive, then maybe a Top 200 or 250 list would be nice. Right now the closest thing to is the Sam san list, but it would be nice to include those high stat Ees and Ils.

Also, a StatAddicts power list.

I think both of these were on the old SA, and maybe they are on the new and I just missed it tongue.gif

On the player pages in the calculator section, perhaps an additional field that would give you an estimated new ranking after achieving the desired stats typed in. It takes the new powerrank level and compares it to the current list and see what rank you would be overall.


--------------------
Hi, I'm Rokugo. You probably don't know me.
There is a 95% chance the above post is sarcasm and is not to be taken seriously.
I play Real Life to help escape NexusTK.
"Baby, for you I'd divide by zero" <--- My # 1 pickup line
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th August 2017 - 04:47 AM
Nexus Forums is part of: Nexus Atlas © all rights reserved.