IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Nexus On A Mac, I am not asking for help, I am telling you how to do it
Dritz
post Apr 29 2010, 09:17 PM
Post #1


Sam san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 749
Joined: 3-July 06
Member No.: 37
Characters: PyroAce



I found myself wanting to install Nexus on my Macbook today. This topic comes up every so often and hopefully this puts it to rest forever.

This post is NOT:

1. How to play Nexus using Crossover Games
2. How to set up a Virtual Machine
3. How to set up Darwine

Nexus is an old game you do not need a Windows, you do not need to pay/pirate a program to play it, and Darwine sucks from all my experiences with it. You can certainly discuss other methods of getting Nexus on a Mac in this thread. However I really discourage you from using Crossover but that's just me.

XCode

We need something installed called XCode, specifically the UNIX dev tools. Insert an OS X install DVD into your computer. A window should open up click on 'Optional Installs'. Click on Xcode.mpkg. Go through the XCode install, all the defaults are fine.

For ease of use we will be using the terminal. To open a terminal window go to the Utilities folder in your Applications directory. The Terminal application should be there.

Admin privileges

Make sure you are an admin. Skip to 'Change to Downloads directory' if you are an admin.

Since we are using the terminal we gotta have administrative privileges. If you are not on an admin account use:

CODE
su 'adminname'


and type in your passwords. You'll have to type in your password for any commands that use 'sudo'

OR

Log in to an administer account and open a terminal window.

Change to Downloads Directory

CODE
cd ~/Downloads


Download Macports

For Snow Leopard:
CODE
curl -O http://distfiles.macports.org/MacPorts/MacPorts-1.8.2-10.6-SnowLeopard.dmg

For Leopard:
CODE
curl -O http://distfiles.macports.org/MacPorts/MacPorts-1.8.2-10.5-Leopard.dmg

For Tiger:
CODE
curl -O http://distfiles.macports.org/MacPorts/MacPorts-1.8.2-10.4-Tiger.dmg


Since Macports updates itself these files should always work for you.

Commands

Copy and paste this into your terminal window. Press enter after pasting each block of code. Make sure you install anything as normal if it comes up.

CODE
open MacPorts-*

CODE
open /Volumes/MacPorts*/MacPorts*.pkg

CODE
echo export PATH=/opt/local/bin:/opt/local/sbin:\$PATH$'\n'export MANPATH=/opt/local/man: \$MANPATH | sudo tee -a /etc/profile


Next line is for Snow Leopard only

CODE
echo +universal | sudo tee -a /opt/local/etc/macports/variants.conf


Close terminal and reopen it.

CODE
sudo port -v selfupdate
sudo port install wget


You have a choice between using the development version of wine or the stable version at this point. Change wine-devel in the following code to wine to install the stable version. I always use the development version.

CODE
sudo port install wine-devel


Change to your user account if necessary

Make sure you are logged into your regular user account. If you previously used su to switch accounts simply type 'exit'. From now on we no longer need administrator privileges.

Setting up wine

Skip to Installing Nexus if your main user account is your admin account you used previously.

CODE
winecfg


This will take a few moments be patient. Just close the window once it opens.

Installing Nexus

For those of you viewing this post from the future, you might need to substitute NexusTK683single.exe with whatever the current client is.

CODE
cd ~/Downloads
wget http://www.mediafire.com/file/ymy3iknjnyt/NexusTK683single.exe
wine NexusTK*.exe

CODE
rm ~/Desktop/NexusTK.desktop ~/Desktop/NexusTK.lnk


Nexus's windower is not very good on Windows and is terrible on Wine. We should disable it and use Wine's virtual desktop feature instead:

CODE
wine ~/.wine/drive_c/Program\ Files/KRU/NexusTK/TKDisplaySelector.exe


Select full-screen mode.

CODE
winecfg


If you are just using Wine for NexusTK you do not need to make a specific setting for it. If you want to use different configurations of wine for different programs you will have to click Add Application. Go to Program Files > KRU > NexusTK > NexusTK.exe and click open.

Whatever you do click the Graphics tab. Check the box beside 'Emulate a Virtual Desktop'. Set the desktop size as 1024x768.

NexusTK Launcher (optional)

There are three ways to create yourself a launcher for NexusTK

1) Download the one provided by me
2) Create your own through the terminal
3) Create your own using applescript

1) If you install other stuff through Wine you are on your own for creating launchers for it. However I have created one for NexusTK. It will only work if you don't use any funny wineprefixes. If you are following this tutorial then you will not have a problem. If you know what a wineprefix is I am sure you can figure something out for yourself.

CODE
wget http://www.nexusbio.org/misc/NexusTK.dmg
open NexusTK.dmg


Drag the NexusTK cloud to your Applications folder.

2) If for some reason you don't trust my 'app' you can create your own the first way to do this is through the terminal.

CODE
printf "%b\n" "#"\!"/bin/bash\nwine ~/.wine/drive_c/Program\ Files/KRU/NexusTK/NexusTK.exe" >> NexusTK
chmod +x NexusTK
open .


Drag the NexusTK file to your Applications folder.

3) If for some reason you don't trust my 'app' you can use applescript to create a launcher. This is how I created my own launcher from option 1.

CODE
open /Applications/Utilities/AppleScript\ Editor.app


Copy the following into the editor:

CODE
do shell script "#!/bin/bash
export PATH=/opt/local/bin:/opt/local/sbin:$PATH
wine ~/.wine/drive_c/Program\\ Files/KRU/NexusTK/NexusTK.exe"


Select File > Save As and save the file as an application. From the folder you saved it to drag the application to your Applications folder.

Keeping Wine up to date (Optional)

If Nexus is working fine in Wine and that is all you use Wine for you should probably never have to upgrade. To keep Macports and Wine up to date run the following commands as admin:

CODE
sudo port selfupdate
sudo port upgrade wine


To upgrade anything you've installed through Macports use:

CODE
sudo port upgrade outdated


Upgrading X11 (Recommended, Optional)

You don't have to do this but having an up to date installation of X11 can help speed up Wine.

CODE
sudo port install xorg-server


Upgrade with

CODE
sudo port upgrade xorg-server


--------------------
There I was


Probably not coming back to NF if you'd like to contact me talk to PyroAce in game.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dritz
post Apr 29 2010, 09:24 PM
Post #2


Sam san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 749
Joined: 3-July 06
Member No.: 37
Characters: PyroAce



Reserving this spot in case I want to add any other methods here. Hope the mods don't mind.


--------------------
There I was


Probably not coming back to NF if you'd like to contact me talk to PyroAce in game.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sebelle
post Apr 29 2010, 09:45 PM
Post #3


Sam san
Group Icon

Group: Moderators
Posts: 757
Joined: 3-July 06
From: East Kimchon
Member No.: 30



Thanks for this. I have a Macbook Pro getting delivered any day now, and will definitely try this out smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rachel
post Apr 29 2010, 09:58 PM
Post #4


Oh san
Group Icon

Group: Retired Staff
Posts: 4,874
Joined: 4-July 06
Member No.: 85
Characters: Rachel



Moved and pinned


--------------------
QUOTE
Work continues on the continuation of the Story
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dritz
post Apr 29 2010, 10:20 PM
Post #5


Sam san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 749
Joined: 3-July 06
Member No.: 37
Characters: PyroAce



Thanks. Unless I made a typo that should all work for peoples.


--------------------
There I was


Probably not coming back to NF if you'd like to contact me talk to PyroAce in game.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
darkmaverick
post Apr 29 2010, 11:41 PM
Post #6


Oh san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 4,627
Joined: 4-July 06
Member No.: 90
Characters: DarkMaverick



So what if you have VMware Fusion on a Mac Pro OS X running Windows 7? I've got an NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GT but I have never gotten a single Windows compatible game to play in it without massive problems.

Edit: Now that I think about it, my problem might be Game Guard.


--------------------
I host The RPG Fanatic Youtube Show. Home of fanatical reviews and commentary about RPGs.
And my top picks for Sa san warrior shield were......

...I totally want that sword too.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dritz
post Apr 29 2010, 11:44 PM
Post #7


Sam san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 749
Joined: 3-July 06
Member No.: 37
Characters: PyroAce



Sorry I have no idea. Follow the method above and you should be able to get it to work with Wine.

I have used Nexus in a virtual machine before and it wasn't much of a problem other than the fact I was running a virtual machine. Try disabling 3d acceleration in your Virtual machines settings is all I can really suggest.


--------------------
There I was


Probably not coming back to NF if you'd like to contact me talk to PyroAce in game.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
darkmaverick
post Apr 30 2010, 12:34 AM
Post #8


Oh san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 4,627
Joined: 4-July 06
Member No.: 90
Characters: DarkMaverick



Out of curiosity I installed it onto my emulated Windows 7. It ran quite well but I had an issue with VMware-- any time you click the bottom of the screen (such as your Menu button), it switches back to Windows 7. This is regardless of where the Windows menu bar is placed. It seems to be some inherent BS with WMware.

So use Dritz's method cause what I tried makes it impossible to play.


--------------------
I host The RPG Fanatic Youtube Show. Home of fanatical reviews and commentary about RPGs.
And my top picks for Sa san warrior shield were......

...I totally want that sword too.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dritz
post May 31 2010, 02:08 AM
Post #9


Sam san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 749
Joined: 3-July 06
Member No.: 37
Characters: PyroAce



I wanted to add another step to my little tutorial. Nexus will work fine with the steps I previously outlined however the implementation of X11 that OS X uses is not always up to date. Wine uses X11 to display windows and a more up to date X11 can often help with speed issues and such.

So here is an extra optional step for everyone. In a admin terminal window:

CODE
sudo port -v install xorg-server


I've added this to the OP.


--------------------
There I was


Probably not coming back to NF if you'd like to contact me talk to PyroAce in game.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Interstate
post Jun 1 2010, 06:56 PM
Post #10


Sam san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 905
Joined: 24-June 07
From: California
Member No.: 2,663



Pretty much the same as the tutorial I posted last year in October ::
(FYI, if you compile MacPorts from source like in this tutorial you don't have to worry about your mac version, and this way doesn't require you to us an illegal third party launcher created and maintained by Dritz... lol? Dritz is going to hate me for saying that haha)

QUOTE (Interstate @ Oct 28 2009, 05:19 PM) *
Good point Dritz. Here is how to install mac ports if you don't already have it:

CODE
bash:~ macuser$ mkdir ~/port_source
bash:~ macuser$ cd ~/port_source
bash:~ macuser$ curl -O http://svn.macports.org/repository/macports/downloads/MacPorts-1.7.1/MacPorts-1.7.1.tar.gz
bash:~ macuser$ tar -zxvf MacPorts-1.7.1.tar.gz
bash:~ macuser$ cd ./Mac*
bash:~ macuser$ ./configure
bash:~ macuser$ make
bash:~ macuser$ sudo make install
bash:~ macuser$ sudo port -v selfupdate
bash:~ macuser$ vi ~/.bash_profile

Press fn + i keys
Add these two paths to export PATH "export PATH=$PATH:/opt/local/bin:/opt/local/var/macports/software/"
Press :
Enter wq
Press Enter


Now you have mac ports installed and anything you install with it will be in your bash path.
Next you can set up wine and install nexus for it:

bash:~ macuser$ sudo port install wget
bash:~ macuser$ sudo port install wine
bash:~ macuser$ cd ~/.wine/drive_c/
bash:~ macuser$ wget http://download.kru.com/NexusTK/Client/Single/NexusTK680single.exe
bash:~ macuser$ wine ./NexusTK68single.exe
bash:~ macuser$ cd ./Program*Files/KRU/NexusTK/
bash:~ macuser$ wine ./NexusTK.exe



Mission accomplished ;P



QUOTE (Interstate @ Nov 6 2009, 02:58 PM) *
bash$ cd ~/.wine/drive_c/Program*Files/KRU/NexusTK/
bash$ wine TKDI*.EXE


There is your display selector (if your wine directory is hidden in your home directory, which it should be by default).



QUOTE (Interstate @ Nov 7 2009, 02:41 AM) *


--------------------
Vicious Circle
Hater of haters
Anti-elitist elitist

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BwL65cvzK0s...feature=related
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dritz
post Jun 1 2010, 07:41 PM
Post #11


Sam san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 749
Joined: 3-July 06
Member No.: 37
Characters: PyroAce



Launcher is just a bash script which runs wine ~/.wine/Program*Files/KRU/NexusTK/NexusTK.exe

Now that I think of it if you use a funny wineprefix it probably won't work. As I said in my tutorial though, if you know what a wineprefix is I'm sure you can figure it out for yourself.

Peoples can do whatever they want of course but for me the extra step of manually running the command is way to much.

My post is more detailed, mentions that you need XCode, has info for non-admins, is pretty, and is pinned so there tongue.gif laugh.gif. I'd actually looked for your post before making this topic but couldn't find it in the one billion and one 'wah I want to run Nexus on a Mac and can't use the search function' posts.

I'll put your compiling steps somewhere though for those interested. As mentioned Macports does update itself so it doesn't really matter. If my OP gets outdated those files should still work, it'll just have to update itself a little later.

I wonder if it would be worthwhile to put Linux instructions somewhere. It's incrediably easy getting Nexus running in Nexus not sure it needs a whole topic dedicated to it. Basically:

insert package manager here install wine

Depending on your distro when you install Nexus you'll even get nice little menu entries for your installed programs.


--------------------
There I was


Probably not coming back to NF if you'd like to contact me talk to PyroAce in game.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Interstate
post Jun 1 2010, 07:49 PM
Post #12


Sam san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 905
Joined: 24-June 07
From: California
Member No.: 2,663



QUOTE (Dritz @ Jun 1 2010, 07:41 PM) *
Launcher is just a bash script which runs wine ~/.wine/Program*Files/KRU/NexusTK/NexusTK.exe

Now that I think of it if you use a funny wineprefix it probably won't work. As I said in my tutorial though, if you know what a wineprefix is I'm sure you can figure it out for yourself.

Peoples can do whatever they want of course but for me the extra step of manually running the command is way to much.


I was teasing you lol... your launcher is perfectly safe.

I just use an alias myself. You don't use bash aliases? I don't know how I would live without them.


You don't have .dat file linking problems when you run it with that command? By default you shouldn't be able to run it that way because of the way NexusTK.exe links to dat files.


--------------------
Vicious Circle
Hater of haters
Anti-elitist elitist

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BwL65cvzK0s...feature=related
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dritz
post Jun 1 2010, 07:52 PM
Post #13


Sam san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 749
Joined: 3-July 06
Member No.: 37
Characters: PyroAce



Honestly? I made the launcher about three years ago not 100% sure what command it uses. Nothing malicious honestly and truly sad.gif. As for aliases I really don't do much in the terminal and hardly ever use a Mac. Linux is usually nice about giving me nice menu entries for stuff. I am definitely the mythical 'regular' user of Linux.


--------------------
There I was


Probably not coming back to NF if you'd like to contact me talk to PyroAce in game.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Interstate
post Jun 1 2010, 07:53 PM
Post #14


Sam san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 905
Joined: 24-June 07
From: California
Member No.: 2,663



Yeah, your tutorial is actually a tutorial.... mine is just a list of commands tongue.gif

and I'm sure your launcher isn't malicious 0=)


--------------------
Vicious Circle
Hater of haters
Anti-elitist elitist

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BwL65cvzK0s...feature=related
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MainAttraction
post Jun 1 2010, 09:01 PM
Post #15


Ee san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 631
Joined: 16-July 09
Member No.: 13,050



i am not. dritz is a hacker named 2can (look at his profile pic) who once hacked nasa.


--------------------
"you know nexus? ya, I used to kiss a lot of deer butts in that game."
CONRO WATCH: DAY 2 --"I heard he's already playing on a noob in Tangun"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dritz
post Jun 1 2010, 09:36 PM
Post #16


Sam san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 749
Joined: 3-July 06
Member No.: 37
Characters: PyroAce



's Dodo from Super Mario RPG, doesn't get more trustworthy than that. The dude in my signature though? Steer clear of him.

I'll list the terminal command for launching NexusTK in the tutorial a little later for the paranoid out there.


--------------------
There I was


Probably not coming back to NF if you'd like to contact me talk to PyroAce in game.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dritz
post Jul 6 2010, 01:42 AM
Post #17


Sam san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 749
Joined: 3-July 06
Member No.: 37
Characters: PyroAce



Alrighty I spent far too much time over a joke figuring out not one but two ways to not use my own launcher. Seriously use the one I made it's easy wink.gif.

The 1st alternative is to just create your own executable shell script. From the terminal:

CODE
printf "%b\n" "#"\!"/bin/bash\nwine ~/.wine/drive_c/Program\ Files/KRU/NexusTK/NexusTK.exe" >> NexusTK
chmod +x NexusTK
open .


The 2nd alternative is how I created my own launcher in the first place. If you feel the need to create your own (that will act exactly the same as mine) do this:

CODE
open /Applications/Utilities/AppleScript\ Editor.app


Copy the following into the AppleScript Editor:

CODE
do shell script "#!/bin/bash
export PATH=/opt/local/bin:/opt/local/sbin:$PATH
wine ~/.wine/drive_c/Program\\ Files/KRU/NexusTK/NexusTK.exe"


Select File > Save As and save the file as an application. From the folder you saved it to drag the application to your Applications folder.

~

I'd mentioned that I was thinking of adding the steps to compile the macports source but meh. Seems unnecessary. Maybe I'll add the SVN steps to that second post I got reserved. That'd at least get you something different for going through the trouble of compiling. You'll be wasting enough time actually using macports that it's just a pain to compile it as well.

Drag the NexusTK file to your Applications folder


--------------------
There I was


Probably not coming back to NF if you'd like to contact me talk to PyroAce in game.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pitseleh
post Oct 15 2010, 03:17 AM
Post #18


Level 5
*

Group: Citizens
Posts: 31
Joined: 4-October 10
From: Virginia
Member No.: 13,574
Characters: Pitseleh, Adelene, Coraliza



I've been using Crossover to run Nexus for a while now, and I've had no problem with it. Though, this is really helpful, too. I'll have to try it out this way as well.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
darkmaverick
post Nov 7 2010, 10:50 PM
Post #19


Oh san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 4,627
Joined: 4-July 06
Member No.: 90
Characters: DarkMaverick



I finally fixed my no internet problem with VMWare. Or rather it fixed itself. I changed the network adapter from Bridged to NAT, and I swear I did that before like 20 times. But yesterday I tried again on a lark. Lo and behold I got internet access. I also figured out if I make VMWare full screen I don't have the popup nonsense obscuring the chat bar


--------------------
I host The RPG Fanatic Youtube Show. Home of fanatical reviews and commentary about RPGs.
And my top picks for Sa san warrior shield were......

...I totally want that sword too.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd October 2017 - 10:26 AM
Nexus Forums is part of: Nexus Atlas © all rights reserved.