IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Connecting Behind A Schools Firewall, Merged with: Nexus Blocked From School but All Other Games Ok?
Dritz
post Oct 12 2008, 11:36 PM
Post #21


Sam san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 749
Joined: 3-July 06
Member No.: 37
Characters: PyroAce



CCProxy looks like a pretty good solution. What kind of security is it using though? Is it basically using a secure tunnel?


--------------------
There I was


Probably not coming back to NF if you'd like to contact me talk to PyroAce in game.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Topher
post Oct 12 2008, 11:59 PM
Post #22


Il san
Group Icon

Group: Banished
Posts: 302
Joined: 14-February 07
Member No.: 1,821



Search Ping Fu Iris on google.... 3 day free trial, let's you play nexus from anywhere.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Brant
post Oct 13 2008, 12:15 AM
Post #23


Sa san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 2,118
Joined: 22-September 06
From: Frisco, Texas
Member No.: 921



QUOTE(Topher @ Oct 12 2008, 11:59 PM) [snapback]65256[/snapback]

Search Ping Fu Iris on google.... 3 day free trial, let's you play nexus from anywhere.



Well, as great as that sounds, I can't figure out how that is safe, or any information about the software, or how exactly it works.

That just doesn't seem very legit.


QUOTE
CCProxy looks like a pretty good solution. What kind of security is it using though? Is it basically using a secure tunnel?


The SOCKS 5 protocol, an extension of the SOCKS 4 protocol that offers more choices of authentication, is defined in RFC 1928. The initial handshake now consists of the following:

* Client connects and sends a greeting which includes a list of authentication methods supported.
* Server chooses one (or sends a failure response if none of the offered methods are acceptable).
* Several messages may now pass between the client and the server depending on the authentication method chosen.
* Client sends a connection request similar to SOCKS 4.
* Server responds similar to SOCKS 4.

The authentication methods supported are numbered as follows:

* 0x00 - No authentication
* 0x01 - GSSAPI [6]
* 0x02 - Username/Password [7]
* 0x03-0x7F - methods assigned by IANA [8]
* 0x80-0xFE - methods reserved for private use

The initial greeting from the client is:

* field 1: SOCKS version number (must be 0x05 for this version)
* field 2: number of authentication methods supported, 1 byte
* field 3: authentication methods, variable length, 1 byte per method supported

The server's choice is communicated:

* field 1: SOCKS version, 1 byte (0x05 for this version)
* field 2: chosen authentication method, 1 byte, or 0xFF if no acceptable methods were offered

The subsequent authentication is method-dependent and described in RFC 1929:

The client's authentication request is:

* field 1: version number, 1 byte (must be 0x01)
* field 2: username length, 1 byte
* field 3: username
* field 4: password length, 1 byte
* field 5: password

Server response for authentication:

* field 1: version, 1 byte
* field 2: status code, 1 byte.
o 0x00 = success
o any other value = failure, connection must be closed

The client's connection request is:

* field 1: SOCKS version number, 1 byte (must be 0x05 for this version)
* field 2: command code, 1 byte:
o 0x01 = establish a TCP/IP stream connection
o 0x02 = establish a TCP/IP port binding
o 0x03 = associate a UDP port
* field 3: reserved, must be 0x00
* field 4: address type, 1 byte:
o 0x01 = IPv4 address
o 0x03 = Domain name
o 0x04 = IPv6 address
* field 5: destination address of
o 4 bytes for IPv4 address
o 1 byte of name length followed by the name for Domain name
o 16 bytes for IPv6 address
* field 6: port number in a network byte order, 2 bytes

Server response:

* field 1: SOCKS protocol version, 1 byte (0x05 for this version)
* field 2: status, 1 byte:
o 0x00 = request granted
o 0x01 = general failure
o 0x02 = connection not allowed by ruleset
o 0x03 = network unreachable
o 0x04 = host unreachable
o 0x05 = connection refused by destination host
o 0x06 = TTL expired
o 0x07 = command not supported / protocol error
o 0x08 = address type not supported
* field 3: reserved, must be 0x00
* field 4: address type, 1 byte:
o 0x01 = IPv4 address
o 0x03 = Domain name
o 0x04 = IPv6 address
* field 5: destination address of
o 4 bytes for IPv4 address
o 1 byte of name length followed by the name for Domain name
o 16 bytes for IPv6 address
* field 6: network byte order port number, 2 bytes



-Brant

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Milli
post Oct 14 2008, 03:16 PM
Post #24


Il san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 226
Joined: 19-October 07
From: UW-Whitewater
Member No.: 4,786
Characters: Milli, MilliPoet, Meril, MilliX



Done everything that I can think of but I still can't get my dorm computer to connect to the proxy server. I can use Logmein to connect to my home computer, but nexus (and everything else) runs at about 1/1000 of normal speed. My home computer uses a dynamic IP, but i've made sure that it stayed the same and that the port forwarded on the router is also on the same ip.

Which IP am I supposed to enter for the proxy server in proxifier?


--------------------
Beautiful avatar done by Bellamuse! Thank you! ^^

My characters as of Mar. 30, 2008 are:

Samaruhi MilliPoet: 300/400
Swift Milli: 215/170
Force Meril: 70/80
HwarangDo MilliX
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Brant
post Oct 14 2008, 03:25 PM
Post #25


Sa san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 2,118
Joined: 22-September 06
From: Frisco, Texas
Member No.: 921



QUOTE(Milli @ Oct 14 2008, 03:16 PM) [snapback]65451[/snapback]

Done everything that I can think of but I still can't get my dorm computer to connect to the proxy server. I can use Logmein to connect to my home computer, but nexus (and everything else) runs at about 1/1000 of normal speed. My home computer uses a dynamic IP, but i've made sure that it stayed the same and that the port forwarded on the router is also on the same ip.

Which IP am I supposed to enter for the proxy server in proxifier?



This one





-Brant
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Milli
post Oct 14 2008, 04:59 PM
Post #26


Il san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 226
Joined: 19-October 07
From: UW-Whitewater
Member No.: 4,786
Characters: Milli, MilliPoet, Meril, MilliX



That seems to be the problem. I can't ping that IP from my dorm. Guess that means there's no way this will work sad.gif

Edit:
I believe that I can ping my router (x.x.x.1 from IP above, not sure if that is my router), just not my computer at home. Might just need some more network tweaking at home to get this to go through.

Edit2:
Most likely cause of no connection is that my home computer is on a wireless connection.


--------------------
Beautiful avatar done by Bellamuse! Thank you! ^^

My characters as of Mar. 30, 2008 are:

Samaruhi MilliPoet: 300/400
Swift Milli: 215/170
Force Meril: 70/80
HwarangDo MilliX
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Brant
post Oct 14 2008, 05:51 PM
Post #27


Sa san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 2,118
Joined: 22-September 06
From: Frisco, Texas
Member No.: 921



QUOTE(Milli @ Oct 14 2008, 04:59 PM) [snapback]65466[/snapback]

That seems to be the problem. I can't ping that IP from my dorm. Guess that means there's no way this will work sad.gif

Edit:
I believe that I can ping my router (x.x.x.1 from IP above, not sure if that is my router), just not my computer at home. Might just need some more network tweaking at home to get this to go through.

Edit2:
Most likely cause of no connection is that my home computer is on a wireless connection.



The wireless shouldn't matter, and you won't necessarily be able to ping your router at home.

-Brant
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
PikuDamaru
post Oct 14 2008, 06:40 PM
Post #28


Sa san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 1,461
Joined: 3-July 06
Member No.: 9
Characters: PikuDamaru



Yea. LogMeIn uses dynamic routing.. and is able to bridge 2 locations on the internet by using their servers as a middleman. It's creative.. but doesn't prove anything for port forwarding purposes.

I didn't look too closely.. which port does Proxifier try to use?


--------------------
IPB Image IPB Image
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Milli
post Oct 14 2008, 08:24 PM
Post #29


Il san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 226
Joined: 19-October 07
From: UW-Whitewater
Member No.: 4,786
Characters: Milli, MilliPoet, Meril, MilliX



The site that gives your IP address is showing a location in milwaukee (most likely my ISP, as I am not in milwaukee) is this still the correct address? I'm thinking the IP should be something else because the connection should be working properly now.


--------------------
Beautiful avatar done by Bellamuse! Thank you! ^^

My characters as of Mar. 30, 2008 are:

Samaruhi MilliPoet: 300/400
Swift Milli: 215/170
Force Meril: 70/80
HwarangDo MilliX
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Brant
post Oct 15 2008, 01:00 AM
Post #30


Sa san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 2,118
Joined: 22-September 06
From: Frisco, Texas
Member No.: 921



QUOTE(PikuDamaru @ Oct 14 2008, 06:40 PM) [snapback]65472[/snapback]

Yea. LogMeIn uses dynamic routing.. and is able to bridge 2 locations on the internet by using their servers as a middleman. It's creative.. but doesn't prove anything for port forwarding purposes.

I didn't look too closely.. which port does Proxifier try to use?



Proxifier uses any port the Proxy Server is set up to use for SOCKS4/5.

In simple terms, if you're hosting the Proxy server on one network, the port you have the software on (CCProxy) allows you to determine which port you would like SOCKS4/5 data to be transferred on.

Most SOCKS Proxies use port 1080, but that's just a default.

Just curious though, which port are you using Milli?

-Brant
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Brant
post Oct 15 2008, 01:04 AM
Post #31


Sa san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 2,118
Joined: 22-September 06
From: Frisco, Texas
Member No.: 921



QUOTE(Milli @ Oct 14 2008, 08:24 PM) [snapback]65480[/snapback]

The site that gives your IP address is showing a location in milwaukee (most likely my ISP, as I am not in milwaukee) is this still the correct address? I'm thinking the IP should be something else because the connection should be working properly now.



The location of your IP doesn't really mean anything. That only describes where your Host Name is coming from, or simply put, which network your ISP has you on. The IP that the site is giving you is the IP you should be putting in to Proxifier. Also, make sure the port you are using for CCProxy is not a bogus port. Try something like 1080 (default SOCKS port), and see if that works. It's possible your Schools network is blocking a port that you're trying to use for proxying.

Another thing you might want to try is to get a close friend or someone you trust to test your connection for you. Or even use another computer that's already AT your HOUSE to test the connection, to make sure that the problem exists with CCProxy, and not with your school's network, or a setting you have in Proxifier.




-Brant
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Milli
post Oct 15 2008, 12:36 PM
Post #32


Il san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 226
Joined: 19-October 07
From: UW-Whitewater
Member No.: 4,786
Characters: Milli, MilliPoet, Meril, MilliX



I'm using port 34689, like you used in the tutorial.

My dad uses a hardware firewall at home, so I'll probably have to connect my computer around that when I go home next. That should let me get through.


--------------------
Beautiful avatar done by Bellamuse! Thank you! ^^

My characters as of Mar. 30, 2008 are:

Samaruhi MilliPoet: 300/400
Swift Milli: 215/170
Force Meril: 70/80
HwarangDo MilliX
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Brant
post Oct 15 2008, 03:12 PM
Post #33


Sa san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 2,118
Joined: 22-September 06
From: Frisco, Texas
Member No.: 921



QUOTE(Milli @ Oct 15 2008, 12:36 PM) [snapback]65559[/snapback]

I'm using port 34689, like you used in the tutorial.

My dad uses a hardware firewall at home, so I'll probably have to connect my computer around that when I go home next. That should let me get through.



Haha, yeah, that could be a problem.

Try using port 1080

-Brant
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Milli
post Oct 16 2008, 12:54 PM
Post #34


Il san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 226
Joined: 19-October 07
From: UW-Whitewater
Member No.: 4,786
Characters: Milli, MilliPoet, Meril, MilliX



finally got it to work. The hardware firewall at home was the problem. Thanks for the assistance biggrin.gif

Edit: new problem!
My computer at home running the proxy server is a laptop and seems to like to shut down on its own after a few hours when it's left alone. I even went into the power options and made sure everything was set to never shut off or sleep on its own. Any way I could force my laptop to stay on 24/7? My current solution is to call someone at home and ask them to turn it back on, but that wont work when no one is there. I figure that a simple solution would be a program that just slowly moved the mouse around on the screen or something, making the computer think that it wasn't idle. Suggestions?

Edit2:
Made a short auto-it program to keep computer awake, huzzah!


--------------------
Beautiful avatar done by Bellamuse! Thank you! ^^

My characters as of Mar. 30, 2008 are:

Samaruhi MilliPoet: 300/400
Swift Milli: 215/170
Force Meril: 70/80
HwarangDo MilliX
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bobert
post Oct 18 2008, 10:39 PM
Post #35


Il san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 191
Joined: 4-July 06
From: Boca Raton, Fl
Member No.: 91
Characters: Bobert, Vlakir



ya, i cant get it to connect either. i tried different ports and trying out a few other things, double checked my port forwarding, and my settings and nothing. any other hints?


--------------------

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Brant
post Oct 19 2008, 03:51 AM
Post #36


Sa san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 2,118
Joined: 22-September 06
From: Frisco, Texas
Member No.: 921



QUOTE(Bobert @ Oct 18 2008, 10:39 PM) [snapback]65932[/snapback]

ya, i cant get it to connect either. i tried different ports and trying out a few other things, double checked my port forwarding, and my settings and nothing. any other hints?



Make sure the IP you're using in PROXIFIER is the correct IP that the CCProxy server is being hosted on.

Make sure you have the log-in set up correctly on CCProxy, and make sure it's typed in correctly in PROXIFIER.

Make sure that the Port you're forwarding is for the correct Computer (Ex: 192.168.1.102)

Those are really the only criteria that need to be correct for it to work correctly. You're welcome to PM me screenshots of how you have it set up, and I'll see if I can find your issue.


-Brant
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bascote
post Nov 10 2008, 11:46 PM
Post #37


Level 5
*

Group: Citizens
Posts: 33
Joined: 28-June 07
Member No.: 2,707



Hey guys,

We have two connections at school, our guest connection has blocked many services related to games apparently but our main, encrypted connection allows me to login to many games. For some reason, though, NexusTK is one of the only games that I have that I cannot connect to.

The first time I launched the game I got all the way up to the create a new character screen but was disconnected before I could login. Now I can get to the main screen (New, Continue, Leave, etc) but it now IMMEDIATELY goes to the "Reconnect or Leave" dialog.

Any idea if theres a way I can get past this, Im hoping its not completely related to our network side of things and that theres something I can do on my side to get connected (of course on the same laptop it works from home)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Vortextk
post Nov 10 2008, 11:56 PM
Post #38


Sam san
Group Icon

Group: Nobles
Posts: 808
Joined: 6-February 07
From: Cape Canaveral, Fl
Member No.: 1,757
Characters: Frog



Maybe it's God giving you an omen, I'd take the hint.


--------------------
IPB Image
Pandemonium Frog My Progress
Warriors; so easy a caveman could do it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bascote
post Nov 11 2008, 12:19 AM
Post #39


Level 5
*

Group: Citizens
Posts: 33
Joined: 28-June 07
Member No.: 2,707



QUOTE (Vortextk @ Nov 10 2008, 08:56 PM) *
Maybe it's God giving you an omen, I'd take the hint.


But everything else works so now im curious why Nexus wont. Guild Wars works, all the steam games work, I can go on and on. Im an IT student maybe I should visit helpdesk and ask lol
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Topher
post Nov 11 2008, 01:02 AM
Post #40


Il san
Group Icon

Group: Banished
Posts: 302
Joined: 14-February 07
Member No.: 1,821



Pingfu Iris, Google it, It's a proxy which allows you to connect to nexus from school or if you're behind a firewall.
Costs 5 bucks a month though.. theres a free trial.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 12th December 2017 - 12:42 PM
Nexus Forums is part of: Nexus Atlas © all rights reserved.